The Virtues by Marcus Aurelius

* Auctoritas – “Spiritual Authority” – The sense of one’s social standing, built up through experience, Pietas, and Industria.

* Comitas – “Humour” – Ease of manner, courtesy, openness, and friendliness.

* Clementia – “Mercy” – Mildness and gentleness.

* Dignitas – “Dignity” – A sense of self-worth, personal pride.

* Firmitas – “Tenacity” – Strength of mind, the ability to stick to one’s purpose.

* Frugalitas – “Frugalness” – Economy and simplicity of style, without being miserly.

* Gravitas – “Gravity” – A sense of the importance of the matter at hand, responsibility and earnestness.

* Honestas – “Respectability” – The image that one presents as a respectable member of society.

* Humanitas – “Humanity” – Refinement, civilization, learning, and being cultured.

* Industria – “Industriousness” – Hard work.

* Pietas – “Dutifulness” – More than religious piety; a respect for the natural order socially, politically, and religiously. Includes the ideas of patriotism and devotion to others.

* Prudentia – “Prudence” – Foresight, wisdom, and personal discretion.

* Salubritas – “Wholesomeness” – Health and cleanliness.

* Severitas – “Sternness” – Gravity, self-control.

* Veritas – “Truthfulness” – Honesty in dealing with others.

Hear ye! 3 thoughts — so far — on “The Virtues by Marcus Aurelius”:

    1. Gaurus

      Humility is implied under Pietas: respect for the natural order: socially/politically. Humility is about recognizing something that is above you, is beyond your control, and should remain so. It is about your ability to follow when someone else is in charge and let them lead. For many people this means God, but it can simply mean following the social order, or both.


Please contribute thy thoughts!

Your e-mail address will not be published.